I Am Learning To Forget You

Thought Catalog

I am learning to mask over the waves of disappointment that filled my chest when you left me for something better. I am learning to fight the heartbreak that washes over me in the middle of the night. I am learning to accept the emptiness that fills most of my bed and all of my heart. I am learning to accept that my words will never shine as bright as the city lights that stole you away.

There was once a time when you would fill me with stories about your life that existed over oceans and continents; of Christmases at your grandparents’ and fireworks on their rooftop; of our future plans together in a house made with glass; of childhood dreams that lived in the clouds and under leagues of lakes. A dream is still a dream regardless of the shape it takes. But yours seemed to shine brighter…

View original post 413 more words

Leave a Reply

